The Spoonie Series! #1 Hospital List!

As most of you know, I went in for my eeg + video telemtry  (or whatever the bloody things called) the other week.  For a full update, watch this space as I’m currently writing that but it’ll take me a while.
This post however is the first part of my Spoonie Series.

Below is a list of the things I took in to hospital with me and in italic is my comments regarding it, i.e. what I used what I didnt use, what I would take again, and why etc etc
So here goes!

Medication/Equipment
Obviously my walking stick(durrrr!) – everyone loved the minions attached to sid the stick
My medication for the weekend – they locked it away though. The nurses laughed at my organisation for each days meds.
List of meds +dosages – came in handy because they had to write it all down – it helped because I didnt have to spell it all to them
ILR revealer- obviously I cant go anywhere without it!
ILR home box thing- again took it because I had to!
Plasters that im not allergic too. (I.e. peppa pig plasters),-glad I took them
My paperwork, – obvious thing but essential.

Toiletries (and stuff like that)
Towel – a must have obviously even though I wasnt allowed to shower in hospital.
Flannel- mines pink, and fabulous and soft ngl. Love how soft it is!
Soap + cover- Its always good to have soap with you that you’re not allergic to!
Sponge- A MUST HAVE WHEN YOU CAN’T SHOWER! Again, mine was pink and super super soft!
Toothpaste- cant be without it obviously
Toothbrush- AS ABOVE
Bepanthem/witch hazel (I.e. tattoo stuff) – this was specific to the fact that my tattoo was still healing.
deodorant – I’m glad I took roll on as well as spray. I felt the roll on was safe compared to the spray! You know how sensitive fire alarms are nowadays!
Wet wipes- can’t cope without wet wipes I tell you! The ones I get are fab for everything!
Tissues- glad I took my own tissues, the nhs ones are like craft paper!!!
Hairbands- but I couldnt put my hair up…
Hairbrush- Never loved my hairbrush as much as I did at the end of my hospital stay!
Cottonwool (I have a thing for cotton pads) – cotton wool pads (the round ones) are my fav, Knowing I have them in my bag is a comfort. Yeah, I know. i’m crazy. But still.
Handcream- I used it each night
Handgel (the one that kills germs!)- I’m quite picky with what I put on my hands. And I don’t like nhs gel so I use my own!

Food/snacks
My salt pots (for my POTS) – as a potsie this was a specific potsie thing and must have! Especially as they have the whole lowsalt thing going on now in the nhs
Choc Raisins (a must have)- I can’t go a day without a choc raisin or two
Grapes- grapes and chocolate raisins were the only snacks that I opened and ate really.
Breadsticks- didnt open them
Chewysweets- didnt open them
Gluten free brownies!!!- didnt open them but have eaten them since- LUSH
Lollipops – only opened them so my visiters could have one haha!
Biscuits- Didnt even remember I had them to be honest
My waterbottle- must have for me because its how I a- monitor what I drink and b- stop myself from spilling water down myself at 3 am after a seizure.
Lucozade (Cant spell for shite tonight)- was only taken with me for emergencies (its a long story)

Clothes etc
Gummies/Croc things- Yes.I rocked my crocs. They were fab easy shoes. No way was I walking around without these I’m telling you!
Socks (that dont match- obviously) – odd socks were worn OBVIOUSLY. I do wish I took fluffy ones for night though!
Tenna ladies + Underwear (inc bras) – obviously a must have
Hats (essential even though I cant wear one!) – I took two – just because its me.
Shirts ( because It has to be front open tops only)- must have obviously.
T shirt (for coming home in!)- I ended up not bothering putting a t shirt on and left my dodgy oversized shirt on!
Pjs (penguin ones!)- very comfy and very important!
Hoodie (for comfort and warmth!) – it got quite cold in the day time so my hoodie was a huge help
Lightweight dressing gown ( because wards are tempermental!)- had this on everytime I went to pee….and that was a lot I tell you!

Other
Glasses+case – obviously me being me I didnt bring my glasses cleaner cloth thing. Dumbass.
Cool spray thing- it got really hot on the first night so this came in handy!
Nail file- Didnt use it but it wouldve been sods law if I didnt take it I wouldve needed it!
My blanket- I can’t stay somewhere without my blanket. I don’t know why.
Gump and Peppa (i.e. my “mascots”)- must have.
Pic of nat- cant sleep without a picture of her near me.

Entertainment-
Dvd player + charger- could not have coped without this machine!
Phone + Charger – my lovely mum paid 9.50 for me to have wifi for the weekend (thanks mumsie!) So that and my phone to skype my loved ones helped pahaha!
Ipod + Charger- cant cope without my tunes!
Earphones- had to have in ear headphones obviously, but yeah couldnt have coped without them!
Books- I took two books and didnt read either.
Notepad + pens- was good to do some notes for college and stuff.
Wordsearch- helped a bit to do these whilst eating my  morning toast and jam.
Dvds- I took loads but we all know It was pointless. I literally watched moulin rouge, mamma mia and high school musical all weekend long.

About The Inconsiderate Cripple

Hi there, I'm the inconsiderate cripple. Welcome to the world through my eyes. I'm Lana, a 19 year old crazy person with chronic illness/disability living for the moment. my blogs a bit weird, a bit 'out there' and a bit well... me. Welcome and Hopefully - You'll stay with me on this journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

