A confession about my Hair.

This is going to be a bit of a hard post for me, but its an important one.

This post is for one of you little inconsiderates (the name is sticking isnt it! heeeeeeeeeey!) , Ana. Hey Gorgeous Girl, If I can tell the world what happened, you can tell your parents why.

Before I start telling you about my hair drama – I’m just goint to clear something up regarding my hats. My hats are still important to me even if you seem to think I’ve “gone off” them. The only thing thats changed is that my hats are my passion again- not my security blankets like they were starting to become.

Okay, so, in 2013 my shoulders started dislocating and subluxing so often that brushing my long hair became beyond a joke. I would cry when I woke up each morning  knowing I had to brush my hair. I would put off washing my hair for as long as possible – which made my hair look disgusting and made me feel disgusting, but I Just couldnt cope with the pain it would cause.

I’ve always been a stubborn little(not so little in 2013 can I add!) cow and refused to ask for help.

My hair got to such a state that I just couldnt brush it any more. I would get my brush stuck it was that bad.

2014, februaryish time, I finally showed my mum what my hair looked like down.

I couldnt stop crying and I – to this day – do not know how my mum kept it together.

She described it as a birds nest, and at one point we all thought that we’d have to shave it all off.

It took about 3 days of cutting and brushing my hair – my scalp red raw- before she cut all the tangles out,and I had a semi decent head of hair.

She marched me to the hairdressers after this and I had my hair cut to shoulder length.

and made me promise to never let it get that bad again, and ask for help in future.

I look back now and can’t stop cringing and laughing at the state of me in this picture. what a mess. I LOOK LIKE HEATHER TROT FOR CHRISTS SAKE!

10259956_685837138128807_5862974421865721591_n

 

Then, I let it grow again, but with the help of mum I could manage it a lot better than before.

However, I became so insecure with my own body and my image that i hated every aspect of my hair, my face, everything.

Then as my health declined, my hair became a real issue. I cannot count the amount of times I had seizures and blackouts and my hair got caught on things. I don’t know how many of you remember, but at one stage I had a bald spot where a huge clump of hair was ripped from my head after seizuring into a doorway…and the door +hinges trapped my hair. *SHUDDERS* Ouch.

I knew I wanted my hair cut short because managing it was becoming more and more difficult.

So eventually, I got the courage to get it all chopped off.

and the rest is history… aha!

 

Its still bizarre to me to see pictures like this and compare it to me now! its crazy.

 

I honestly cant see my self ever going back to long hair.

Don’t get me wrong, having short hair is stll high maintenance – however, I’d rather that than cry each morning over brushing long hair that I didnt even like.

At last, I can take pride in my hair and feel confident again.

Ana, Showing my mum that birds nest was hard and admitting that I needed help was harder. Getting it cut took courage. But trust me- its the best thing Ive ever done.

You need to be true to you and do whats best for YOU.

Please just show your parents.

Trust me on this.

Laters Gaters.

L

 

About The Inconsiderate Cripple

Hi there, I'm the inconsiderate cripple. Welcome to the world through my eyes. I'm Lana, a 20 year old crazy person with chronic illness/disability living for the moment. my blogs a bit weird, a bit 'out there' and a bit well... me. Welcome and Hopefully - You'll stay with me on this journey!
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, Health, personal blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A confession about my Hair.

  1. mizuume says:

    Thank you for sharing this – it really puts my issues with EDS into perspective. So glad that you have found a solution and made that style your own! All the best ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

