Ambulances, Gas&Air & A Misbehaving Body

This happened the other week, but I never did get around to blogging about it, so here goes.

I won’t bore you with all the details of that day, but it was a Thursday, I had had my dinner, and I had taken my stuff upstairs and I went for  a wee- as you do- and then thats when all the trouble started.

As most of you know, I have ‘difficulties’ with getting on and off toilets, so rely on my toilet frame (or luck/throwing myself off the seats in public places/peoples homes).  Well, I tried getting myself up, and it didnt work. Tried again, and hit my head on the radiator…tried AGAIN and hit my head on the radiator AGAIN. Then its all a bit blurry. We are unsure whether I seizured, or I knocked myself out, but whatever happened, I ended up in a very VERY peculiar position in our very small toilet room (I call it a toilet ROOM because its separate from the ‘bathroom’). I was very confused, in a LOT of pain, and was STUCK in the impossible position I ended up in.  I shouted for mum.

Another long story short, an ambulance arrived, as did my Uli!

The most amazing paramedics – Julie (I do believe her name was julie anyway?) and Eamon (although I’ve probably got that wrong too). ANYWAY they somehow got me out of there, down the stairs and to hospital – and I really dont know HOW they did it but they did- and I am very VERY  Grateful to them (also grateful for them keeping me entertained and telling me about someones nickname…)

All the usual things happened in A & E, ECGs, bloods, urine all the usual stuff..(bloody pots was causing trouble as my heart rate was beyond fast and gave a few people a bit of a fright!)

ANYWAY a few hours later, I found out that it was just bloody EDS causing trouble (it has a habit of causing trouble with my kidneys and gynae areas- have I mentioned that before on here?)

Overall, that night and the days after, It was confirmed I had a minor concussion, some of those not so cool bloodclotty deep bruisey thingys and a kidney infection.

(lumpy head and dodgy roots haha)

IMG_3048

So, a very scary night, but we had answers at the end of it all I suppose.

Just for Julies benefit – I rate them both 30000 Stars out of 5 … and if I could, I’d give them a gold medal for being fabulous.

I just want to thank my mum and Ulicorn for being incredible as always – especially as uli had been up for over 24 hours, and mum had to be up for work in work like 6 or 7 hours. youre both incredible. My mummy and my mummy number 2 ❤ my heroes – always x

Lana xx

 

About The Inconsiderate Cripple

Hi there, I'm the inconsiderate cripple. Welcome to the world through my eyes. I'm Lana, a 19 year old crazy person with chronic illness/disability living for the moment. my blogs a bit weird, a bit 'out there' and a bit well... me. Welcome and Hopefully - You'll stay with me on this journey!
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, ehlers danlos, Health, personal blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

