Coming Out as a zebra

Coming out as a Zebra.

I’m not talking about being a member of the LGBT+ Community…

I’m talking about the fact that sometimes – you have to ‘come out’ as a zebra.

ehlers danlos

The thing about Ehlers Danlos is that its not really ‘visible’ and its the same with most of my conditions.

Even though many people in my life know I have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome now, many don’t know what  “type” I have- or the complications of it – both long term and short term.

I feel like having to TELL someone my diagnosis (Often this happens twice – reasons I might discuss another time but if Ive spoken to you recently and you know my EDS Related news you will know exactly what I mean by twice)  and its like coming out.

When I came out as Pansexual,  it was extremely difficult. I was convinced people would look at me differently – and perhaps not want me in their lives anymore.

Sometimes that’s how it feels having to tell people about  my incurable condition, the condition that many people go “what the hell is that! and youre sure theres no cure?!” when I tell them about it.

I actually find it incredibly difficult to tell people about it- which must sound crazy considering my blog is mainly about my health – but its so much easier to type it out than to sit and talk about it face to face.

Its not as hard to talk about now, but its still difficult.

I truly feel that it IS like coming out- but with totally different circumstances surrounding it.

food for thought at least  right?

what do you lot think?

L x

 

 

About The Inconsiderate Cripple

Hi there, I'm the inconsiderate cripple. Welcome to the world through my eyes. I'm Lana, a 19 year old crazy person with chronic illness/disability living for the moment. my blogs a bit weird, a bit 'out there' and a bit well... me. Welcome and Hopefully - You'll stay with me on this journey!
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, ehlers danlos, Health, personal blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

