Why I blog.

I get asked almost all the time. Why do I blog. Contray to what some people i know think, I do NOT blog for attention.

It’s taken me a long time to be able to get the words together to explain it all. I don’t even know if it makes sense BUT here we go.

I started blogging because being ill was dragging me back to a dark place that I didn’t want to be in. A teacher of mine (who knows who she is) encouraged me to start it.

I originally had a blog called life in the dizzy zone, which mainly focused on my journey with POTS. I didn’t enjoy it. I felt like it was pointless.

However, about 6 months later, I had an encounter with a rude older lady, who long story short, called me an inconsiderate cripple. When someone is so rude to you like that, it sticks in your brain. It can be soul destroying.

The day that that happened. I realised that actually, I needed to educate the world about my conditions.  I wanted to raise awareness after that incident now more than other.

So this blog was born.

It was like it all clicked inside. I suddenly had this huge passion for writing. I became documenting my journey, and I wrote about everything and anything.

Over time more people started reading my blog and people got in touch, sharing THEIR stories, and how they were grateful to me for sharing mine, because it made them realise they weren’t alone.

Then I did my tena ladies review, and a post about my hair situation, about coming out as pansexual,  and I wrote about grieving for nat, and for my grandad.

I then suddenly had all these people emailing me telling me how I had helped them in various ways. How I gave them confidence to talk about things with their loved ones, and even how I had helped them find the strength to seek professional help.

Over the years since starting this blog, I have made many friends, and have met so many incredible people with incredible stories.

So why do I blog?

I blog because its my passion.

I blog because its what keeps me sane at 3 am when I’m in so much pain the tears don’t stop rolling down my red face.

I blog because otherwise I would be depressed and I would be bottling everything away inside until I hit rock bottom and explode.

I blog because it helps me cope with my life and situations i find myself in.

I blog because all I’ve ever wanted to do is help people, and this is my way to do it.

I blog because it gives me a purpose.

I blog because sometimes its the only thing I feel will get me out of bed in the mornings.

I blog to document the journey I’m on.

I blog to raise awareness of my conditions and educate the world.

I blog to share memories.

I  blog because sometimes its the only thing I CAN do.

I blog because sometimes, I need to.

I blog because I want to give something back to the world.

I blog because time is precious, and limited, but a blog will always be there for others to read. My memories and words on a page will be there to comfort people if I can no longer do it myself.

And most of all?  I blog because I love it. It makes me smile. Sure it makes me stressed as feck sometimes and thats why i’ve had a few months break from it all. But i’m back for good this time.

That is it.

That’s why.

About The Inconsiderate Cripple

Hi there, I'm the inconsiderate cripple. Welcome to the world through my eyes. I'm Lana, a 20 year old crazy person with chronic illness/disability living for the moment. my blogs a bit weird, a bit 'out there' and a bit well... me. Welcome and Hopefully - You'll stay with me on this journey!
This entry was posted in ehlers danlos, Health, personal blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

